By the end of the year, nine Indian airports will offer visas on arrival and electronic visas to visitors from 180 countries. Currently, visas are offered on arrival to the foreign nationals of eleven countries, including Finland, Japan, Indonesia, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Singapore, and Vietnam. Upon the program’s expansion, foreign visitors can either receive a visa upon arrival, or apply for an electronic visa three days before traveling. Either of these options will grant visitors a single-entry visa that will be valid for a 30-day period. Foreign nationals from the following eight “prior reference” countries will not be permitted to obtain a visa through these two options: Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia, Sri Lanka, and Sudan.

Please note that this is general information only and not intended as advice on a specific matter. Please feel free to contact Fakhoury Global Immigration directly with questions exclusive to your situation. This news alert may have been prepared using information from Peregrine Immigration Management, which is licensed to Fakhoury Global Immigration.