Effective August 12, 2015, the agreement on the accession of Kyrgyzstan to the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) came into force. Membership of the EEU means that Kyrgyz nationals can now work in Russia, Armenia, Belarus and Kazakhstan without the need for a work permit or patent.

What Are the Benefits?

Kyrgyz nationals entering Russia for work are now exempt from requiring a work patent (an employment authorization process introduced in January 2015 for nationals of member states of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).

Along with Armenians, Belarusians and Kazakhs, Kyrgyz nationals no longer need to undergo the immigration medical check, the Russian language and knowledge examination, the income tax payment and the fingerprinting appointment which are required for the work patent application process. Moreover, Kyrgyz nationals staying in Russia for less than 30 days are now exempt from registration with the Federal Migration Service (UFMS). For nationals of non-EEU countries, registration must be completed within seven days of arrival in Russia.


The Eurasian Economic Union introduces the free movement of goods, capital, services and people and provides for common transport, agriculture and energy policies, with provisions for a single currency and greater integration in the future. The Treaty was signed by Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan in 2014, and came into effect on January 1, 2015. Armenia’s accession treaty came into force on January 2, 2015.

Please note that this is general information only and not intended as advice on a specific matter. Please feel free to contact Fakhoury Global Immigration directly with questions exclusive to your situation. This news alert may have been prepared using information from Peregrine Immigration Management, which is licensed to Fakhoury Global Immigration.