The text of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) deal was released on Thursday, November 5, 2015 and revealed the implications it would have on the participating countries including Canada. According to the agreement, Canada would grant temporary entry and simplified work authorization to certain foreign workers thus exempting them from labor market testing or numerical quotas. The agreement covers business visitors, intra-company transferees and investors from the other 11 involved countries and also covers specific professionals and technicians from Australia, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico and Peru.
Although the agreement has yet to be signed, Canadian Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau, supports the deal and claims that it should ease cross-border travel for certain foreign nationals traveling on business throughout the participating countries. The TPP is a free trade agreement being negotiated that will aim to reduce barriers to trade and travel among the 12 participating countries. The 12 countries include Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States and Vietnam.

Please note that this is general information only and not intended as advice on a specific matter. Please feel free to contact Fakhoury Global Immigration directly with questions exclusive to your situation. This news alert may have been prepared using information from Peregrine Immigration Management, which is licensed to Fakhoury Global Immigration.