Nationals from Schengen member countries including business visitors, students and journalists will no longer need to acquire a visa prior to traveling to Peru. The new policy allows for nations of Schengen countries to visit Peru for up to 90 days during a six-month period without first needing to secure a visa. The former visa requirement has already been waived for tourists from Schengen countries.

Eventually, Schengen member countries will also grant Peruvian citizens visa-free travel to the Schengen Area through a reciprocal agreement that is expected to be finalized by the end of 2015 or early 2016.

Please note that this is general information only and not intended as advice on a specific matter. Please feel free to contact Fakhoury Global Immigration directly with questions exclusive to your situation. This news alert may have been prepared using information from Peregrine Immigration Management, which is licensed to Fakhoury Global Immigration.