As of 17 May 2016, more categories of visa-required nationals are allowed to enter Mexico for up to six months without a visa.


Visa-required nationals who hold a valid visa to enter, or are permanent residents of, Canada, Japan the United Kingdom, the United States or the Schengen countries are now allowed to enter Mexico visa-free for up to 180 days.


In addition, visa-required nationals who are permanent residents of the Pacific Alliance member countries (Chile, Colombia and Peru) can now enter Mexico without a visa, also for up to 180 days.


Holders of a visitor visa to Mexico (or visitor status with this visa exemption) can remain in Mexico for up to six months. Work is permitted as long as the foreign national remains on home contract and is paid outside Mexico.


Note that visa-required nationals holding a valid visa or permanent residence for Canada, Japan, the UK, the US and the Schengen countries, as well as permanent residents of Chile, Colombia and Peru, can now enter Mexico without a visa and undertake short-term work.


Please note that this is general information only and not intended as advice on a specific matter. Please feel free to contact Fakhoury Global Immigration directly with questions exclusive to your situation. This news alert may have been prepared using information from Peregrine Immigration Management, which is licensed to Fakhoury Global Immigration.