Effective April 1, the Ministry of External Affairs implemented three new subcategories under the e-Visa scheme; e-Tourist Visa, e-Business Visa, and e-Medical Visa. This is in effort to liberalize the e-visa regime.

Previously, the e-Visa was only subject to tourism, for a maximum stay of 30 days, with a single entry. E-Tourist and e-Business Visas are not available as a double entry.  The e-Medical Visa is available as a triple entry.  The validity of the visa has also increased to 60 days, from previous 30 days. As before, the e-Visa remains non extendable.

The e-Visa may only be applied for twice in one calendar year. Applications can be made with a minimum of 4 days in advance, with an expected arrival date within 120 days.  This has increased from the previous 60 days.

The e-Visa program is now available to 161 nationals of designated countries, listed here, traveling to 24 designated airports and three designated seaports.  Applications must be made online and the applicant must carry the Electronic Travel Authorization showing the status as ‘Granted’ at the time of travel.

Government fees for the e-Visa have also been revised here, based on your country of residence.  The fee must be paid online as well at the time of submission of the application.

Please note that this is general information only and not intended as advice on a specific matter. Please feel free to contact Fakhoury Global Immigration directly with questions exclusive to your situation. This news alert may have been prepared using information from Peregrine Immigration Management, which is licensed to Fakhoury Global Immigration.