New visa application centers have opened to facilitate the first phase of the biometric expansion for nationals from countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East.  Nationals from these countries have been required to give their biometrics since July 31, 2018.

The next phase of biometrics begins December 31, 2018, for nationals of Asia, Asia Pacific, and the Americas.  By December 31, 2018, there will be 152 VACs in 103 countries.  Applicants may also obtain their biometrics from any entry they are legally allowed to enter.  This also includes the United States, which has 135 U.S. Application Support Centers.

The rollout of the biometrics is meant as a safety and security measure of Canadians and will also streamline the process for entry of travelers.

Please note that this is general information only and not intended as advice on a specific matter. Please feel free to contact Fakhoury Global Immigration directly with questions exclusive to your situation. This news alert may have been prepared using information from Peregrine Immigration Management, which is licensed to Fakhoury Global Immigration.